© 2011 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

10/31/11 8:00 PM ET

Gold Glove Award winners set to be unveiled

The Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners will be announced on Tuesday night, honoring the best individual fielding performances at each position in the National and American Leagues, as voted by managers and coaches.

The unveiling of the awards will be announced live at 10 p.m. ET on ESPN2 in a one-hour telecast.

Numerous players will be looking to hold on to their titles as the best at their positions.

Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina and Phillies outfielder Shane Victorino are going for their fourth straight Gold Glove Awards, while Reds second baseman Brandon Phillips will be looking to win his third in the past four years.

Molina is challenged by Atlanta's Brian McCann and Philadelphia's Carlos Ruiz, while Victorino is up against a pair of NL West center fielders in Los Angeles' Matt Kemp and Arizona's Chris Young. Pittsburgh's Neil Walker and Florida's Omar Infante challenge Phillips at second base.

In the Junior Circuit, Yankees first baseman Mark Teixeira and Rays third baseman Evan Longoria also are up for their third straight awards. Among the first-base finalists with Teixeira is Boston's Adrian Gonzalez -- an NL winner with the Padres in 2008 and '09 -- and Tampa Bay's Casey Kotchman. Like Teixeira, Longoria is part of a close battle with Rangers third baseman Adrian Beltre -- the 2007 and '08 AL winner -- and Red Sox third baseman Kevin Youkilis.

White Sox left-hander Mark Buehrle also will be going for his third straight award on the mound and is among a crop of finalists that includes Angels right-hander Dan Haren and Indians righty Fausto Carmona.

Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano and Rockies shortstop Troy Tulowitzki are up for their second straight honors. Cano is challenged by Boston's Dustin Pedroia and Texas' Ian Kinsler, while Pittsburgh shortstop Ronny Cedeno and Atlanta shortstop Alex Gonzalez are nominees with Tulowitzki.

For the first time in a decade, there will be a new AL winner from right field. Ichiro Suzuki, winner of the award since his 2001 debut, is not among the three right-field nominees. This year's award will go to the Orioles' Nick Markakis, the Angels' Torii Hunter (a nine-time winner) or the Royals' Jeff Francoeur.

There also will be a changing of the guard at AL shortstop. Indians' Asdrubal Cabrera, Orioles' J.J. Hardy and the Angels' Erick Aybar are the nominees at shortstop. That list doesn't include Yankees captain Derek Jeter, the reigning two-time winner who has taken home the Gold Glove Award in five of the past seven seasons.

Other positions also will see first-time winners.

Dodgers left-handers Clayton Kershaw and Hiroki Kuroda, as well as Cardinals right-hander Kyle Lohse, are the nominees for the NL pitcher Gold Glove.

Baltimore's Matt Wieters, Chicago's A.J. Pierzynski and Detroit's Alex Avila are the nominees for best defensive AL catcher.

2010 NL MVP Joey Votto of Cincinnati, Florida's Gaby Sanchez and Los Angeles' James Loney are the finalists for the NL Gold Glove Award at first base.

The AL left-field Gold Glove Award nominees are Kansas City's Alex Gordon, New York's Brett Gardner and Tampa Bay's Sam Fuld, while the center-field finalists are the Red Sox's Jacoby Ellsbury, the Tigers' Austin Jackson and the the Angels' Peter Bourjos.

The NL left-field Gold Glove Award nominees are Arizona's Gerardo Parra, Milwaukee's Ryan Braun and St. Louis' Matt Holliday, while the right-field finalists are Cincinnati's Jay Bruce, Los Angeles' Andre Ethier and Carlos Beltran, who spent the season with the Mets and Giants.

The 18 Gold Glove winners will be eligible for the inaugural Rawlings Platinum Glove Award, with the winner to be determined by fan voting on the Rawlings, ESPN and ESPN Baseball Tonight Facebook pages. Voting will begin after the awards show and concludes on Nov. 7, with the announcement of the winners coming on Nov. 11 at the Rawlings Gold Glove Award Ceremony in New York, as well as on ESPN Baseball Tonight's Facebook page and Twitter feed.

Cash Kruth is a reporter for MLB.com. Follow him on Twitter at @cashkruth. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.