© 2012 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

03/03/12 9:10 AM EST

Pirates agree to terms with 25 for 2012 season

BRADENTON, Fla. -- The Pirates on Saturday morning announced they reached contract agreements with 25 players, bringing their entire 40-man roster into the fold.

The deadline to negotiate contracts and to automatically renew those not yet signed is not until March 11, but clubs prefer to clear the deck prior to the start of exhibition play.

The Pirates will kick off their Grapefruit League slate on Saturday afternoon in Dunedin, Fla., where they will meet the Toronto Blue Jays at 1:05 p.m. ET.

The newly-signed players include center fielder Andrew McCutchen, with whom the club is expected to continue negotiations on a longer-term deal, and second baseman Neil Walker.

Others whose agreements were announced Saturday morning:

• Infielders Chase d'Arnaud, Matt Hague, Josh Harrison, Jody Mercer, Yamaico Navarro and Gustavo Nunez

• Outfielders Gorkys Hernandez, Starling Marte and Alex Presley

• Catcher Michael McKenry

• Pitchers Jared Hughes, Chris Leroux, Brad Lincoln, Jeff Locke, Daniel McCutchen, James McDonald, Kyle McPherson, Bryan Morris, Daniel Moskos, Rudy Owens, Tony Watson, Duke Welker and Justin Wilson

Tom Singer is a reporter for MLB.com and writes an MLBlog Change for a Nickel. He can also be found on Twitter @Tom_Singer. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.