5/5/2013 7:41 P.M. ET
Philly umps use replay twice on close homer calls
Initially ruled doubles, Hechavarria's shot overturned to slam, Ozuna's upheld
By Paul Hagen / MLB.com
PHILADELPHIA -- As a player, Mike Redmond was a career .287 hitter in 13 big league seasons. As the Marlins manager, he batted .500 in Sunday's 14-2 win over the Phillies at Citizens Bank Park.
In the first inning, with one out and the bases loaded, right felder Marcell Ozuna hit a long fly to left against Phillies starter Roy Halladay. In the third, with the same situation, shortstop Adeiny Hechavarria drove the ball to right. In both cases, the hits were originally ruled as doubles. And in both cases, the umpires left the field to watch the video instant replay.
Ozuna had to stay at second. But a second look showed that Hechavarria's ball cleared the fence for his first career grand slam.
"I was running out of replay challenges," joked Redmond. "I lost the first one and won the second one. In this ballpark, it's tough to see. The first one, I don't know how close it was because I didn't see a replay, but it looked to me like it was really close to going out. And the second one, I thought I saw it hit the seat. Anyway, that stuff happens. That's why it's there. It worked out for Hech."
"Yeah, I knew it [was a homer]," said Hechavarria, the 24-year-old shortstop from Cuba said through a translator. "I thought I had a home run. I knew when the umpires came back that it was going to be a home run."
Ozuna was surprised, but not disappointed, that he didn't get to circle the bases as well.
"Yeah, that's what I thought [that it was a home run]," he said. "The umpires said no after they watched the video. I said, 'It's all right, a double, two RBIs. That's good.' You don't need to try to do too much. Just see the ball, hit the ball, that's it."
Paul Hagen is a reporter for MLB.com. MLB.com reporter Joe Frisaro contributed to this report. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.