© 2013 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

11/7/2013 7:56 P.M. ET

Dustin Pedroia, Gerardo Parra win 2013 Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Awards

2nd Annual Awards Also Recognize Best Defensive Player on Each Club

Boston Red Sox second basemen Dustin Pedroia and Arizona Diamondbacks outfielder Gerardo Parra have been named the recipients of 2013 American League and National League Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Awards, respectively. In addition, the Arizona Diamondbacks were named the National League Defensive Team of the Year, while the Baltimore Orioles and Kansas City Royals tied for the American League award. The winners were announced tonight as part of a special on MLB Network. 

Founded in 2012, the Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Award winners are determined by using a formula that balances scouting information, sabermetric analysis and basic fielding statistics. In addition to the overall awards listed above, one player from each MLB Club was recognized as its top defensive player. 
The winners for each organization include: 

2013 Wilson Defensive Player of The Year Award Winners
American League   National League
Baltimore Orioles- Manny Machado (3B)   Arizona Diamondbacks - Gerardo Parra (OF)
Boston Red Sox - Dustin Pedroia (2B)   Atlanta Braves - Andrelton Simmons (SS)
Chicago White Sox - Gordon Beckham (2B)   Chicago Cubs - Darwin Barney (2B)
Cleveland Indians - Yan Gomes (C)    Cincinnati Reds - Jay Bruce (OF)
Detroit Tigers - Austin Jackson (OF)   Colorado Rockies - DJ LeMahieu (2B)
Houston Astros - Matt Dominguez (3B)   Los Angeles Dodgers - Juan Uribe (3B)
Kansas City Royals - Lorenzo Cain (OF)   Miami Marlins - Donovan Solano (2B)
Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim - J.B. Shuck (OF)   Milwaukee Brewers - Carlos Gomez (OF)
Minnesota Twins - Brian Dozier (2B)   New York Mets - Juan Lagares (OF)
New York Yankees - Robinson Cano (2B)   Philadelphia Phillies- Carlos Ruiz (C) 
Oakland Athletics - Josh Reddick (OF)   Pittsburgh Pirates - Russell Martin (C)
Seattle Mariners - Dustin Ackley (2B)   San Diego Padres - Chris Denorfia (OF)
Tampa Bay Rays - Evan Longoria (3B)     San Francisco Giants - Gregor Blanco (OF)
Texas Rangers - Craig Gentry (OF)   St. Louis Cardinals - Yadier Molina (C)
Toronto Blue Jays - Colby Rasmus (OF)   Washington Nationals - Denard Span (OF)

Outfielders Michael Bourn and Mike Trout were the inaugural winners of the Wilson Defensive Player of the Year in 2012, while the Atlanta Braves were the first to be named Wilson Defensive Team of the Year. 
Wilson Sporting Goods has been the Official Ball Glove of Major League Baseball for over 20 years. Beginning with the introduction of its first glove in 1919, Wilson has proudly outfitted thousands of Major League Baseball's brightest stars, from Ted Williams and Ernie Banks to David Wright and Dustin Pedroia. Learn more at www.wilson.com and follow Wilson on Twitter (@wilsonballglove), Facebook and Instagram. 

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.