© 2013 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

12/9/2013 8:58 P.M. ET

Seattle's Tim Hevly honored with the 2013 Robert O. Fishel Award

Orlando, FL - Tim Hevly, the Senior Director of Baseball Information for the Seattle Mariners, has been named the recipient of the 2013 Robert O. Fishel Award for Public Relations Excellence, presented this evening during the Baseball Winter Meetings.

The Robert O. Fishel Award, named after the longtime baseball executive, goes to the "active, non-uniformed representative of Major League Baseball whose ethics, character, dedication, service, professionalism and humanitarianism best represent the standards propounded by Robert O. Fishel." Fishel, an executive with the Cleveland Indians, the St. Louis Browns, the New York Yankees and the American League Office, was the inaugural winner of the Award in 1981.

Hevly, 44, just finished his 24th season with the Mariners, including his 16th as the head of the Baseball Information Department. In his current role, he is responsible for overseeing all aspects of public and media relations as they relate to the Club on the field and working with the General Manager, the baseball operations staff and upper management, in conjunction with the rest of the communications team, on internal and external communications issues.   During his time with the Mariners, Hevly has contributed to the PR efforts for the opening of Safeco Field in 1999, the 2001 All-Star Game, and the club's four Postseason appearances (1995, 1997, 2000-01), including its memorable 116-win campaign in 2001.

Hevly began his career with the Mariners as an intern in 1990 and was hired full-time prior to the 1992 season. He was promoted to Assistant Director, Public Relations in 1995 and was then named to lead the new Baseball Information Department in 1998. He was promoted to his current position in February 2011.

Prior to being hired by the Mariners on a full-time basis, Hevly worked at the Seattle Post-Intelligencer in its sports department and at the University of Washington in its Sports Information Department. The Seattle native received his undergraduate degree in English from Whitman College in 1988 and obtained a Master's Degree in Athletic Administration from Seattle Pacific University in 1991. Hevly and his wife, Kris Lambright, reside in Seattle.

Fishel Award nominees are submitted by the 30 Major League Clubs and league officials. The nominees are voted upon by active past winners, MLB officials and the Baseball Writers' Association of America. 

The previous winners of the Fishel Award are:


1981 - Robert O. Fishel, American League

1982 - Robert W. Brown, Baltimore Orioles

1983 - Larry Shenk, Philadelphia Phillies

1984 - Arthur E. (Red) Patterson, California Angels

1985 - Jim Ferguson, Cincinnati Reds

1986 - Fred Claire, Los Angeles Dodgers

1987 - Jim Toomey, St. Louis Cardinals

1988 - Tom Mee, Minnesota Twins

1989 - Donald Davidson, Houston Astros

1990 - Ned Colletti, Chicago Cubs

1991 - Phyllis K. Merhige, American League

1992 - Richard Griffin, Montreal Expos

1993 - John Blake, Texas Rangers

1994 - Katy Feeney, National League

1995 - Howard Starkman, Toronto Blue Jays

1996 - Bill Guilfoile, National Baseball Hall of Fame

1997 - Dick Bresciani, Boston Red Sox

1998 - Jay Horwitz, New York Mets

1999 - Bob DiBiasio, Cleveland Indians

2000 - Tim Mead, Anaheim Angels

2001 - Rob Matwick, Houston Astros

2002 - Mike Swanson, Arizona Diamondbacks

2003 - Rick Vaughn, Tampa Bay Devil Rays

2004 - Jeff Idelson, National Baseball Hall of Fame

2005 - Randy Adamack, Seattle Mariners

2006 - Rob Butcher, Cincinnati Reds

2007 - Richard Levin, Major League Baseball

2008 - Scott Reifert, Chicago White Sox

2009 - Patrick Courtney, Major League Baseball

2010 - Jay Alves, Colorado Rockies

2011 - Jim Trdinich, Pittsburgh Pirates

2012 - Staci Slaughter, San Francisco Giants

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.