Below is an advertisement.


Bay Area All-Star Scholarship Team
Bay Area All-Star Scholarship Team

The Bay Area All-Star Scholarship Team (BAASST) is a partnership established in 1996 by the Oakland Athletics, Golden State Warriors, Oakland Raiders, San Francisco 49ers, San Francisco Giants, San Jose Earthquakes and San Jose Sharks. This unique committee is the first of its kind in the realm of professional sports. Each team will honor these students during a special pre-game presentation at their individual venues.

$3,000 scholarships will be awarded to six successful students residing within the Bay Area's nine counties. All public high schools within the vicinity are provided detailed information about this scholarship opportunity.

All candidates must meet the following criteria:

  • College-bound senior with a minimum GPA of 3.0.
  • Display leadership qualities in the classroom and/or inspirational qualities on the athletic field.
  • Demonstrate the value of education, good work ethic and community outreach.

The 2011 scholarship recipients:

  • Oakland A's: Kyle Miller - Pinole Valley High School (Pinole)
  • Golden State Warriors: Osayande Aihie - San Leandro High School (San Leandro)
  • Oakland Raiders: Breanna Gallagher - Kennedy High School (Fremont)
  • San Francisco 49ers: Slater Meehan - Santa Cruz High School (Santa Cruz)
  • San Francisco Giants: Eddy Zheng - Lowell High School (San Francisco))
  • San Jose Earthquakes: Noama Iftekhar - Wilcox High School (Santa Clara)
  • San Jose Sharks: Allison Sturges - Mt. View High School (Los Altos)

Applications for high school seniors in Contra Costa County and Solano County will be available in December 2012.