Sights and Sounds
Programs & Events

Jered Weaver wins 2004 Golden Spikes Award

•   Partnership with USA Baseball >
•   Previous Golden Spikes Award winners >

DURHAM, N.C. –- Jered Weaver, a lanky right-hander who proved nearly untouchable for collegiate hitters over three seasons at Long Beach State, won the 2004 Golden Spikes Award by USA Baseball.

Weaver, the younger brother of Dodgers pitcher Jeff Weaver, was 15-1 with a 1.62 ERA and 213 strikeouts over 144 innings to lead Long Beach State to a No. 13 ranking in Baseball America’s final collegiate poll this season. He was just the 14th Division I player to strike out more than 200 batters in a season.

Jered Weaver won the 2004 Golden Spikes Award as the nation's top amateur player. (Big West Conference)

The 6-foot-7, 205-pound right-hander finished his collegiate career with a dominating 37-8 record and 2.43 ERA and 431 strikeouts over 370 innings.

Weaver was drafted 12th overall by the Anaheim Angels in Major League Baseball’s draft and would have been selected higher had some teams not backed off thinking it would be too costly for them to sign him. His agent, Scott Boras, called him “Major-League ready.”

Weaver established a new Team USA record in the summer of 2003 by pitching 45 2/3 consecutive scoreless innings, giving up his only two runs in the Gold medal game against Cuba. He also set a Team USA record with his 0.38 ERA.

The other finalists for the award were two-way standout Stephen Head of Mississippi, Arizona State shortstop Dustin Pedroia, Texas closer Huston Street and Rice pitcher Wade Townsend.

The MLBPA sponsors the Golden Spikes Award as a way to underscore the players' commitment to growing the game at the amateur level.

Previous Golden Spikes Award winners:
2004Jered Weaver, Long Beach State
2003Rickie Weeks, Southern University
2002Khalil Greene, Clemson
2001Mark Prior, USC
2000Kip Bouknight, S. Carolina
1999Jason Jennings, Baylor
1998Pat Burrell, Miami
1997J.D. Drew, Florida State
1996Travis Lee, San Diego St.
1995Mark Kotsay, Cal St. Fullerton
1994Jason Varitek, Ga. Tech
1993Darren Dreifort, Wichita State
1992Phil Nevin, Cal St. Fullerton
1991Mike Kelly, Arizona State
1990Alex Fernandez, Dade South
1989Ben McDonald, LSU
1998Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State
1987Jim Abbott, Michigan
1986Mike Loynd, Florida State
1985Will Clark, Mississippi State
1984Oddibe McDowell, Arizona State
1983Dave Magadan, Alabama
1982Augie Schmidt, UNO
1981Mike Fuentes, Florida State
1980Terry Francona, Arizona
1979Tim Wallach, Cal St. Fullerton
1978Bob Horner, Arizona State

Team Auction