To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to main content

Press Release

04/14/2007 8:45 PM ET
Carpenter & Pujols recognized by peers as 2006 NL Outstanding Pitcher and Marvin Miller Man of the Year, respectively
Outstanding on-field and off-field performances earn coveted Players Choice Awards and total of $70,000 contribution in their honor to charities of their choice

ST. LOUIS -- In a pre-game ceremony this evening, Cardinals pitcher, Chris Carpenter, was honored as 2006 NL Outstanding Pitcher, while teammate, Albert Pujols, was honored as 2006 Marvin Miller Man of the Year. Selected in a secret ballot of all players, the Marvin Miller Man of the Year award, named in honor of the Players Association’s first executive director, is given to the player in Major League baseball whose on-field performance and contributions to his community inspire others to higher levels of achievement.

Albert and his wife Deidre are the founders of the Pujols Family Foundation, which is dedicated to the love, care, and development of people with Down Syndrome and their families. The Pujols family also dedicates their time to improve the lives of impoverished children and orphans of the Dominican Republic by donating money and time for education and gifts. This is Albert’s fourth Players Choice Award, as he has been chosen Player of the Year (2003), NL Outstanding Player (2003), and NL Outstanding Rookie (2001).

Chris Carpenter, selected by secret ballot of all NL players, was named the 2006 National League Outstanding Pitcher after finishing the season with a 15-8 record, 3.09 ERA and 184 strikeouts. This marks the third Players Choice Award for Chris after being chosen as the 2005 National League Outstanding Pitcher and the 2004 National League Comeback Player.

Former Major Leaguer, Phil Bradley, a Major League Baseball Players Association Special Assistant, presented Chris and Albert with their Awards.

In honor of the players, the Major League Baseball Players Trust will contribute grants totaling $70,000 to the charities of their choice. 2006 Players Choice Award winners in all categories will designate charities to receive grants totaling $260,000 from the Players Trust. Since 1992, the Players Trust has recognized the outstanding on-field and off-field performances of Players Choice Awards winners by contributing over $3 million to charities around the world.

Through the Players Trust, Major Leaguers contribute their time, money and celebrity to call attention to important causes affecting the needy and to help encourage others to get involved in their own communities. In partnership with Volunteers of America, the national human service organization, the Players Trust created and helps administer the Action Team, a national youth volunteer program currently inspiring the next generation of volunteers in cities throughout the United States. For more information on the Major League Baseball Players Trust, please visit

The Players Choice Awards winners (Outstanding Pitchers, Rookies, Comeback Players, Player of the Year and the Marvin Miller Man of the Year) were selected by secret ballot of all Major League baseball players, under the supervision of accounting firm KPMG.

The 2006 Players Choice Awards Winners & Runners-up (winners in bold type):


Outstanding Player: David Ortiz (Boston), Derek Jeter (NY Yankees), Jermaine Dye (Chicago White Sox)
Outstanding Pitcher: Roy Halladay (Toronto), Johan Santana (Minnesota), Justin Verlander (Detroit)
Outstanding Rookie: Francisco Liriano (Minnesota), Jonathan Papelbon (Boston), Justin Verlander (Detroit)
Comeback Player of the Year: Magglio Ordonez (Detroit), Frank Thomas (Oakland), Jim Thome (Chicago White Sox)


Outstanding Player: Miguel Cabrera (Florida), Ryan Howard (Philadelphia), Albert Pujols (St. Louis)
Outstanding Pitcher: Chris Carpenter (St. Louis), Brandon Webb (Arizona), Carlos Zambrano (Chicago Cubs)
Outstanding Rookie: Prince Fielder (Milwaukee), Dan Uggla (Florida), Ryan Zimmerman (Washington)
Comeback Player of the Year: Joe Borowski (Florida), Nomar Garciaparra (Los Angeles Dodgers), Scott Rolen (St. Louis)


Player of the Year: Ryan Howard (Philadelphia), David Ortiz (Boston), Albert Pujols (St. Louis)
Marvin Miller Man of the Year: Albert Pujols (St. Louis), John Smoltz (Atlanta), Jim Thome (Chicago White Sox)