USA Baseball restructures Board of Directors

New Board marks end of Executive Committee

March 7, 2008

Ernie Young will now serve as Secretary General.

DURHAM, N.C. -- USA Baseball has announced today the restructuring of its Board of Directors. The governance change includes the addition of a seat for a Major League Baseball (MLB) representative for the first time, as well as the dissolution of the National Governing Body's Executive Committee.

The new Board structure was unanimously approved by the previous Board of Directors at its annual meeting in January.

In an attempt to fall more closely in line with the restructuring that the United States Olympic Committee's (USOC) Board of Directors underwent in 2003, USA Baseball has given its board a new structure as well. With the dissolution of the Executive Committee, there will now be 10 seats on the new board. In addition to the seat held by MLB, USA Baseball National Member Organizations will have four seats, USA Baseball recent athletes will have two seats and there will be three at-large seats.

UNC-Greensboro baseball head coach Mike Gaski will remain president of the board. He was initially elected as president on January 7, 2001 and was re-elected to the position on January 10, 2005. Gaski said that change within the Board of Directors was important to the growth of USA Baseball.

"At the urging of the USOC, we spent a significant amount of time evaluating our governance procedures as well as the composition of our Board of Directors," said Gaski.

"As the National Governing Body for the sport in the U.S., USA Baseball is fortunate to have some of the finest leaders in amateur and professional baseball participating on our board. We believe that this new model will continue to allow the USA Baseball staff to draw upon the expertise, counsel and vision of all of our National Member Organizations, while at the same time providing for a more effective and efficient governance structure."

Among the new faces on the revamped board is John McHale, Jr. of MLB. The appointment of McHale -- the first inclusion of an MLB representative on the board -- reflects the growing partnership between USA Baseball and MLB.

Additionally, while not a new face to the board, Ernie Young moves into the position of Secretary General. The Sydney 2000 Olympic Games gold medalist adds this new role to his growing list of international responsibilities, having also recently signed on as an athlete representative for the International Baseball Federation (IBAF).

Each at-large, recent athlete and National Member Organization Board member's term is three years, with elections at the end of each term. In the case of USA Baseball Youth National Member Organizations, each member will serve a three-year term and then cycle out, opening the door for three new representatives each term.

A complete list of the USA Baseball Board of Directors:

  • Mike Gaski - At-large (President)
  • Ernie Young - Recent Athlete (Secretary General)
  • Jason Dobis - At-large (Treasurer)
  • John McHale, Jr. - Major League Baseball
  • Abe Key - Youth National Member Organization (PONY Baseball)
  • Steve Keener - Youth National Member Organization (Little League Baseball)
  • Sandy Jones - Youth National Member Organization (Dixie Boys Baseball)
  • Damani Leech - National Member Organization (NCAA)
  • Kim Braatz Voisard - Recent Athlete
  • George Grande - At-large