2008 National Team roster announced
Twenty of 22 spots filled, two more to be named

June 24, 2008

National Team detailed roster »

DURHAM, N.C. -- USA Baseball announced Tuesday its 2008 National (Collegiate) Team, headlined by left-handed pitcher and 2007 National Team member Mike Minor (Vanderbilt; Chapel Hill, Tenn.). The 20-man roster consists of nine pitchers, nine position players and a pair of two-way players. The 2008 USA Baseball National Team will compete next month in the Haarlem Baseball Week in the Netherlands and at the FISU World Championships in the Czech Republic.

The National Team roster was selected following a two-week trials period, during which the trials participants played 10 games and had two intrasquad scrimmages. Comprised of the top non-draft-eligible college players in the United States, the National Team plays six games against the Chinese Taipei National Team before beginning competition in Europe.

The USA Baseball Olympic Team is comprised of the top professional players not on a 25-man roster; that squad will be announced July 16 and participate in the 2008 Summer Games in Beijing.

Rob Walton (Oral Roberts) serves as head coach of the 2008 National Team with pitching coach Jerry Meyers (Old Dominion) and assistant coaches Nino Giarratano (San Francisco) and Ritch Price (Kansas). Eric Campbell is the general manager for the USA Baseball National Team.

"Even though we are only at 20 players, this team is as ready as any national team in my time to start an international series," Campbell said. "I credit this readiness to Rob Walton and his staff. We have had a great trials, and this team is eager and ready to play for their country."

Minor was 5-3 with a 2.08 ERA in nine appearances for the 2007 National Team. He is joined on the 2008 National Team pitching staff by right-handers Kyle Gibson (Missouri; Greenfield, Ind.), A.J. Griffin (San Diego; El Cajon, Calif.), Kevin Rhoderick (Oregon State; Scottsdale, Ariz.), Stephen Strasburg (San Diego State; San Diego, Calif.) and Kendal Volz (Baylor; Bulverde, Texas), and left-handers Chris Hernandez (Miami (Fla.); Miami, Fla.), Tyler Lyons (Oklahoma State; Lubbock, Texas) and Andrew Oliver (Oklahoma State; Vermillion, Ohio).

Outfielder Kentrail Davis (Tennessee; Theodore, Ala.) headlines the position players. Davis hit .463 with six home runs and 19 RBIs in 12 games during the 2008 National Team Trials. He is joined by outfielders Matt den Dekker (Florida; Fort Lauderdale, Fla.) and Josh Fellhauer (Cal State-Fullerton; Rancho Cucamonga), infielders Christian Colon (Cal State-Fullerton; Corona, Calif.), Derek Dietrich (Georgia Tech; Parma, Ohio), Ryan Jackson (Miami-FL; Miami Springs, Fla.) and Hunter Morris (Auburn; Huntsville, Ala.), and catchers Micah Gibbs (LSU; Pflugerville, Texas) and Ryan Lipkin (San Francisco; Vacaville, Calif.).

The two utility players are infielder/right-handed pitcher Mike Leake (Arizona State; Fallbrook, Calif.) and outfielder/right-handed pitcher Blake Smith (California; Modesto, Calif.).

USA Baseball will announce the final two members of the 2008 National Team later in the week.

"Without a doubt, this is an outstanding collection of talent both on the mound and in the lineup," Walton said. "We have plus arms, solid defenders and a group of quality hitters with great makeup. We look forward to representing the United States in international competition with this team."

The National Team begins competition Wednesday, opening a six-game series against the Chinese Taipei National Team in Greenville, S.C. First pitch is scheduled for 7:05 p.m. EDT at West End Field.