USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award
Watch List announced

Feb. 15, 2008

DURHAM, N.C. -- USA Baseball announced on Friday its preseason Golden Spikes Award Watch List. The release of the Watch List marks USA Baseball's first step toward identifying the top player in college baseball.

The initial list -- the first ever of its kind for the Golden Spikes Award -- features 75 of the nation's top collegiate talents, as nominated by baseball sports information directors across the country. The Watch List will also be "rolling" to ensure that athletes who play themselves into consideration by USA Baseball for the Golden Spikes Award are not ignored. The Golden Spikes Award is sponsored by Major League Baseball, and 2008 marks the 31st installment of the award.

Headlining the 2008 watch list are Vanderbilt third baseman Pedro Alvarez and Texas outfielder Kyle Russell, both of whom were finalists for the 2007 Golden Spikes Award. Among those joining Alvarez and Russell on the list are three candidates each from Arizona State, San Diego, South Carolina, Rice and Wichita State. Including Alvarez and Russell, Vanderbilt and Texas also have three watch list members each.

Conferences boasting the most watch list nominations include the SEC with 15 names, the ACC and Pac-10 each have 10 members, and the Big 12 has eight nominees.

"We think we have a comprehensive list of names on this rolling, initial Golden Spikes Award watch list," said Eric Campbell, USA Baseball National Teams General Manager. "We also look forward, however, to watching the season unfold and keeping an eye on those players whose performance warrants an inclusion to the list."

On May 20, USA Baseball officials will cut the watch list of players to 50 names. The final list of 50 will then be sent to a voting body consisting of select professional baseball personnel, past USA Baseball National Team coaches, select members of the media, former USA Baseball sports information directors and current USA Baseball staff -- nearly 150 voters in total.

Additionally, for the first time ever, fan voting will be a part of the Golden Spikes Award in 2008. May 20 will also mark the day when college baseball fans from across the country will be able to vote for their preferred choice for the Golden Spikes Award on As part of this May selection process all voters will be asked to choose five players from the list of 50 names. On June 3, USA Baseball will announce the five finalists, and voting will once again commence that same day.

The 2008 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award will be presented nationally on July 16 at an award show via live telecast from New York at MLB Advanced Media studios.

Past winners of the Golden Spikes Award include Terry Francona (1980), Will Clark (1985), Robin Ventura (1988), Jason Varitek (1994), J.D. Drew (1997), Mark Prior (2001), Jered Weaver (2004) and David Price (2007).

2008 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award Important Dates

  • February 15th — 2008 Preseason Watch List Released
  • May 20th — 50 Semi-Finalists Announced
  • June 3rd — 5 Finalists Announced
  • July 16th — 2008 Winner announced

Please see below for the 2008 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award Watch List.

First Last Position School
Preston Guilmet RHP Arizona
Ike Davis OF Arizona State
Petey Paramore C Arizona State
Brett Wallace 1B Arizona State
Logan Forsythe OF Arkansas
Mike Bianucci OF Auburn
Beamer Weems SS Baylor
David Cooper 1B California
Tyson Ross RHP California
Kiko Vazquez 1B Central Florida
Doug Hogan C Clemson
David Sappelt OF Coastal Carolina
Pat Venditte LHP/RHP Creighton
Alex Buchholz SS Delaware
Christian Friedrich LHP Eastern Kentucky
Mike McKenna OF Florida Atlantic
Buster Posey C Florida State
Jack Rye OF Florida State
Tanner Scheppers RHP Fresno State
Gordon Beckham SS Georgia
Collin Cowgill OF Kentucky
Scott Green RHP Kentucky
Danny Farquhar RHP Louisiana Lafayette
Luke Burnett RHP Louisiana Tech
Jared Bradford RHP LSU
Yonder Alonso 1B Miami
Jemile Weeks 2B Miami
Zach Putnam RHP/OF/DH Michigan
Lance Lynn RHP Mississippi
Cody Satterwhite RHP Mississippi
Brandon Turner 2B Mississippi State
Aaron Crow RHP Missouri
Mitch Harris RHP/OF Navy
Eric Surkamp LHP NC State
Johnny Giavotella 2B New Orleans
Dustin Ackley 1B/OF North Carolina
Jordy Mercer RHP/SS Oklahoma State
Anthony Shawler RHP/1B Old Dominion
Brendan Duffy OF Oral Roberts
Jorge Reyes RHP Oregon State
Mike Stutes RHP Oregon State
Drew O'Neil RHP Penn State
Brett Hunter RHP Pepperdine
Josh Lindblom RHP Purdue
Cole St. Clair LHP Rice
Aaron Luna OF Rice
Ryan Berry RHP Rice
Brian Matusz LHP San Diego
Josh Romanski LHP/OF San Diego
AJ Griffin RHP San Diego
James Darnell 3B South Carolina
Justin Smoak 1B South Carolina
Phil Disher C South Carolina
Cody Adams RHP Southern Illinois
Sean Ratliff LHP/OF Stanford
Jordan Danks OF Texas
Kyle Russell OF Texas
Preston Clark C Texas
Blake Stouffer 2B Texas A&M
Roger Kieschnick OF Texas Tech
Shooter Hunt RHP Tulane
Scott Gorgen RHP UC Irvine
Brandon Crawford SS UCLA
Pedro Alvarez 3B Vanderbilt
Dominic de la Osa OF Vanderbilt
Ryan Flaherty SS Vanderbilt
Derek Shunk SS Villanova
David Adams 2B Virginia
Jacob Thompson RHP Virginia
Allan Dykstra 1B Wake Forest
Blake Murphy C Western Carolina
Conor Gillaspie 3B Wichita State
Aaron Shafer RHP Wichita State
Rob Musgrave LHP Wichita State
Jeremy Hamilton 1B Wright State