Game called due to predetermined series rules.

July 29, 2006

  • Box Score   |  Scoreboard/Results
  • FORT MILL, S.C. --- The USA Baseball National Team and Japan battled to a 2-2 tie after 12 innings Saturday night at Knights Stadium.

    According to the rules set before the series began, if the game were still tied after 12 innings, it would end in a tie.

    The USA won the series with a 3-1-1 record and is now 18-2-1 overall, while Japan finished its trip at 1-3-1.

    Both teams were locked in a pitchers duel and had trouble generating runs throughout the game. The US left 18 runners on base while Japan left five.

    Japan got on the board in the top of the eighth, courtesy of a two-run homer by Noriharu Yamazaki off of reliever Tommy Hunter.

    Zack Cozart (Ole Miss) singled to start the ninth and Julio Borbon (Tennessee) followed with a walk. Jemile Weeks (Miami) then laid down a sacrifice bunt to advance Cozart and Borbon. Pedro Alvarez (Vanderbilt) then came through with a double down the left field line to score both runs and tie the game.

    Jake Arrieta pitched six scoreless innings of one hit baseball with seven strikeouts and five walks in his first no-decision of the summer.

    Takayuki Kishi gave up four hits in six shutout innings with 11 strikeouts and four walks and also did not factor in the decision.

    Ross Detwiler closed out the game for the US with 4.2 innings of three hit scoreless relief with eight strikeouts and no walks.

    Alvarez led the team with three hits and was named the series MVP after batting .409 (9-for-22) with a homer and nine RBI.

    The National Team will take the next two days off before closing out the USA portion of its slate with two games against teams from the Coastal Plains Summer League. They will face the Columbia Blowfish on Tuesday at 7 p.m. in Columbia, S.C. and will then face the Fayetteville Swamp Dogs on Wednesday at 7 p.m.

    JAPAN     000 000 020 000 -2 7 0
    USA       000 000 002 000 -2 10 1

    SKishi, Hasebe (7), Nagai (9), Kaneto (9), Shimizu (11) and Tanaka, Takaya. Arrieta, Hunter (7), Detwiler (8) and Clark. W-, L- . SV-. HR- Japan: Yamazaki (1). USA: None.